jump to navigation

Up Next…..Tuscobia 150 Mile Ultra – Dedicated to the Memory December 16, 2010

Posted by whereschrisscotch in Uncategorized.
trackback

Tuscobia Ultra

Growing up playing baseball, my dad always urged me to visualize hitting the ball.  To mentally create different situations and how I would react to various pitches, situations and events.  A little trick I have employed over the years in many scenarios, athletic and otherwise.  I have been visualizing this race for weeks now.  Playing in my head how this race will go.  Taking third person views of my running form and how it changes when pulling a sled full of gear.  Preparing for the weather, most notably the cold weather.  Trying to anticipate how I will prevent overheating, and the requisite freezing that occurs next as the sweat turns to ice on your body.  I chuckle to myself though, as I know that no amount of visualizing the events of the next 3 days will actually prepare me for what is about to happen, but it might just help a bit….hopefully.

Venue:

Tuscobia State Trail:  “A mix of history and scenic beauty, the Tuscobia State Trail is a 74-mile abandoned railroad grade that provides four seasons of fun. ”  The trail runs southwest from Park Falls to Rice Lake, WI  through Barron, Washburn, Sawyer and Price counties.

Details:

Participants can Run,  Bike or  Ski/Skijour.   I will be running, although I considered skijouring with Cooper, but didn’t feel like I have trained him enough for 150 miles just yet.  Race starts at 7 am tomorrow (Friday).  The cutoff is Monday at 7 am, or 72 hours.

There is a requirement for mandatory gear that must be carried by competitors at all times.  This means a participant can haul a pack or pull a sled.  I will be using a sled.  The 150 miles will be an out and back from Park Falls to Rice Lake.  There will be 5 aid stations/check points that will have water.

Goal:

Finish.

Plan:

Given that I have zero experience with a race of this type, I have no idea what to expect for time.  I finished the Sawtooth 100  in 30 hours, but I am not sure how relevent this information can be.  Add a heap of snow, a sledful worth of gear and a pinch of cold; shake gently, and you come out with this guesstimate:  25 hours to reach the 75 mile turnaround.  35 hours to do the second 75 miles.  Total time – 60 hours.  Huh???

Emotions:

High and all over the place.  Nervous.  Excited.  Slightly fearful.  Anxious.  I like my toes, no matter how mangled and hairy they are.  And I find fingers really useful.  I find my above average sense of smell fun.  And I am sure I would look funny without one of my ears or the tip of my nose.  And my legs, oh my legs.  And back.   What kind of shape will they be in after all is said and done.  Uncertaintly, doubt and real risk abound, but alas, I have received some last minute inspiration that I can pull upon.

Purpose:

I received an amazing donation last night from a couple that is experiencing real pain.  I called to thank them today and we talked a bit about their experience as well as  the work that St. Jude does.   I can’t imagine the difficulty of their  loss.   And their generosity to donate to St. Jude is astonsishing.  They said thank you for the work I am doing and encouraged me to keep it up.   Raising money for St. Jude is something I find to be a worthy cause.  They offer hope for children when there is none.  They do progressive research and share it with others so that more children might benefit.  I feel my part is tiny, but I know every little bit helps.  Each donation brings a small sense of encouragment to keep pushing my limits and to keep spreading the work of St. Jude.  But to hear someone say “thank you” and to tell me this is all worthwhile touches me to the core.  My heart aches for them, but at the same time they leave me full of hope and strength and a renewed passion to do more and bigger things for St. Jude.   I would like to dedicate this race to this couple and their family.  Thank you for making a difference to the children of St. Jude.

Chris

Comments»

1. Pam - December 16, 2010

Good luck Chris – you can do it and will be thinking of you. Touching story – both on the part of the coulpe and how dedicated you are to giving back. Pam

whereschrisscotch - December 26, 2010

Pam,
Thanks for the luck – it paid off! It was quite an experience and I am still feeling the effects a week later. Hope you are having a very Happy Holiday season.
Chris

2. Adam Casseday - December 16, 2010

Good luck with this Chris. Sounds like a tremendous adventure!

whereschrisscotch - December 26, 2010

Adam,
Thanks for the luck and the donation! It was really great to spend a little time with you at Hellgate a couple weeks ago. It gave me a chance to put a face and a person to the backside of yours that I was chasing at Sawtooth! Good Luck with your AT planning and keep me in the loop. My buddy in RI would love to meet up with you on the north end of your journey.
Chris

3. SteveQ - December 20, 2010

I just heard you won! Way to go!

Where’s Chris Scotch? In first place.

whereschrisscotch - December 26, 2010

Steve,
Hah!! Sometimes the sun even shines on a ……well, you get the point. Certainly had no expectation to win, but it does feel nice. Thanks for checking in and Happy Holidays!
Chrsi

4. Sea Legs Girl - December 20, 2010

Oh – my – gosh. You are incredible! You won! Think of the endurance you have built up in just the last year. Astounding!

5. whereschrisscotch - December 26, 2010

Sea Legs! Thanks so much and congrats to you. I know I am a little late to the party (pretty typical for me, btw) but I am happy for you. Good Luck and Happy Holidays!
Chris


Leave a Reply

