jump to navigation

Next up for “Where’s Chris Scotch” – Twin Cities Marathon September 30, 2010

Posted by whereschrisscotch in Races/Events Schedule, Uncategorized.
trackback

I am quite excitedly looking forward to TCM this weekend.  Back in April this was one of the two marathon’s (Grandma’s Marathon was the other)  I planned to run in 2010.  Then I decided to run for a purpose, as a St. Jude Hero.  I am running TCM  (as all the events I am doing in 2010) in an effort to raise awareness and money for St. Jude Children’s Hospital on behalf of Katelyn Atwell.

Please consider making a donation at:                http://www.mystjudeheroes.org/cjscotch

While the distance is less,  my anticipation for the weekend and the marathon are as high as the ultra’s I have done this summer.

In 2009 I ran TCM, my very first marathon, and had a great experience.  My parents came to support and crew.  My dad was actually able to ride his bike for most of the course, taking pictures and offering encouragement along the way.  The energy of this race is unbelievable.  An estimated 350,000 spectators lined the course last year – there wasn’t a stretch of any considerable distance where there wasn’t music playing,  someone ringing a cowbell, cheering loudly or trying to hand out various items that may or may not be beneficial.  The Bailey’s stop at mile 3, while tempting, might not be the best idea when running a marathon.  But obviously I haven’t let the idea slip from my mind over the last year!

I went into the 2009 marathon will a goal of finishing in 4 hours or less.  I was excited for the race, and that was amped by the energy of the spectators, the costume characters along the way (high-fiving or hugging everyone I saw),  the loads of friends I saw along the course and my parents.  I ran with no watch, no real plan other than to soak up the experience as much as I possibly could.  I thought I had trained hard for 2 months to get ready and finishing the marathon was going to be a great payoff.

About mile 18 or 19, amidst all the fun I was having,  I asked my dad what my time was and asked him to do some quick math.  He looked at me sort of strangely, wondering why I needed to know what pace I would have to run to finish in 3:10.  I explained, that inexplicably and unexpectedly, I was flirting with qualifying for the Boston Marathon and would need to finish in 3:10 or better.  He did the math for me and I realized I was not going to run the final 7 miles in under a 6 minute pace, but I decided I would go as hard as I could and get as close as I could.  At mile 20 I made up my mind that I would run the Sacramento marathon in December with the goal of qualifying (which I did not, another story for another day).  I finished TCM strong and completely satisfied.  I had set out with a goal enjoying the run as much as I could and finishing in under 4 hours.  Check and check!  My parents being there to support me as I finished my first marathon topped off the day perfectly.

Pics courtesy of Dark from his blog.

This year is a bit different, but not entirely.   My primary and only goal this year is to have fun while raising awareness about Katelyn and St. Jude.   I have no intention of trying to qualify for Boston.  The past 3 months have been been a wild ride.  My campaign for St. Jude brought me into ultra marathons and through those events I have been able to spread Katelyn’s story and have met so many wonderful people.  The only downside, if you can call it that, is that I have not been “training” for running a fast marathon.  But that is not the purpose of running TCM, or any of the other races this year.  TCM will be another chance to spread Katelyn’s story while enjoying the experience with family and friends. Good Luck to all my friends who are also running TCM and let’s make it one to remember!   I am so stoked for the weekend!!

Chris

Bib# 767

Should finish somewhere around 3:45, depending on how many stops I make for bacon, bailey’s and the bathroom.  I will be wearing my St. Jude Children’s Hospital singlet.  I will post my chip number when I know it.

Comments»

1. Aunt Gee Gee - October 1, 2010

Good luck Chris!!!!! Our thoughts are with you, even though we are not able to be there.

2. whereschrisscotch - October 1, 2010

Aunt Gee Gee, Thanks so much for the luck and the wonderful donation. THANK YOU!!

3. ajoyfulpractice - October 3, 2010

Chris,

Enjoy! I’ll be smiling at you around mile one and beyond.

Myra


Leave a Reply

