jump to navigation

Sawtooth 100 Added to the “Where’s Chris Scotch” campaign for St. Jude Children’s Hospital September 8, 2010

Posted by whereschrisscotch in Races/Events Schedule.
trackback

I suppose after running  a 50km, a 50 mile, a 100km and a 100 mile stage race (over four days) the next logical step is to do a 100 mile race.  If there is anything logical about any of these races to begin with.  But let’s chuck logic out the window and remember how this all started – as a way to generate interest, awareness and funds for St. Jude Children’s Hospital on behalf of Katelyn Atwell.

In that vein, I am excitedly and nervously announcing the next event for Where’s Chris Scotch:

Sawtooth 100

Sawtooth 100 Mile Trail Ultra

100 mile footrace on the Superior Hiking Trail.  The race starts at Gooseberry Falls and ends at Lutsen Ski Resort.  The Superior Hiking Trail is a wonderful and beautiful trail.  One of the best hiking trail systems in the country.  I also happen to agree completely with the one descriptor I hear most often about the Superior Hiking Trail when it comes to running it – RELENTLESS.   The Superior Sawtoth 100 is regarded as one of the more difficult 100 mile races in the country.  The Superior Sawtooth 100-Mile Trail Race has 20,000 feet of elevation gain and 21,000 feet of descent and is actually 102.6 miles.

I have a strange feeling about this event – it is something different than what I have experienced in the other 4 ultras I have completed over the past 2 months.  I can’t quite put my finger on what is different, but while I am feeling nervous about the distance, and the brutality of the course, I also have a christmas morning type of enthusiasm for this race.  The cutoff time is 38 hours.  Yes, people run for 38 hours straight.  The winner will only run about 22 hours though.  I hope to be somewhere in the middle of that range.  I have joked with people that I believe I will spontaneously combust at some predetermined mileage that fate has set for me.  After finishing Where’s Waldo I know that hellish  number is at least 63 miles – here’s hoping that it is also somewhere north of 102.5 miles.

Why run 100 miles?  On Trails? All at once? Simple.  I am raising funds and awareness for St. Jude Children’s Hospital.

What’s the big deal – a lot of people run? While I am starting to get arguments from people on this, I am not a runner.   My first marathon was less than a year ago.  In fact, running was something that for most of my life I have despised and found painful.  I upped the ante July 5th when I completed my first “Ultra” marathon – the Afton 50k.  The past two months have been a quest to continue to push the envelope in the hopes of continuing to spread the word about my campaign for St. Jude.

Please consider making a donation at:                http://www.mystjudeheroes.org/cjscotch

Comments»

1. Leann Scotch - September 8, 2010

Chris, you are my hero! Eat and drink early and often, hills are my friends, over and over again….

whereschrisscotch - September 9, 2010

Thanks Leann! Congrats on getting signed up for Ironman Canada!

2. shira granote - September 8, 2010

Man Chris, you are something else. The challenges I take on seem tiny compared to yours. Wow. I’ll be rooting for you today and each day forward.
With love, Shira

whereschrisscotch - September 9, 2010

Shira, I appreciate your support. Challenges are all relative, yours are huge to me!
Thanks!
Chris

3. brian - September 9, 2010

Wow chris…this is unbelievable man. What you’ve done over the last couple months is incredible…best of luck. See you up there…should be an adventure!

4. whereschrisscotch - September 9, 2010

Brian,
Thanks for the luck and same to you! You are going to tear the course up tomorrow. See you at the start!
chris


Leave a Reply

