jump to navigation

THE PURPOSE . . . August 5, 2010

Posted by whereschrisscotch in Uncategorized.
trackback
The original intention of Where’s Chris Scotch was to support Katelyn  Atwell,  who can teach us all quite a bit about perseverance and dreaming big,  in her quest to raise $3 million for St. Jude Children’s Hospital.
 
Where’s Chris Scotch was originally designed as a fundraising effort, in which I would run 3 marathons and and ask for donations in support of St. Jude.  As a non-runner,  this was an extremely ambitious goal, but I soon found myself trying Ultra distances (ultra distance = longer than a marathon, 26.2 miles), of which I have now completed 27 from June  2010 to September 2012.
 
Katelyn was the original source of inspiration for what has become a series of decisions and choices that have drastically changed my life.  Since the seemingly  chance encounter we  had in February 2009 ,  not only have I become a runner, but in the course of my fundraising campaign I have picked up new skills, learned more about what makes me hum along in this  thing called life, and met wonderful new friends, including my running partner for life, Helen.  We have since moved to California, another thing I never thought would happen, and we are enjoying life to the fullest with our dog, Cooper (and as of October 2012, Juneau), in the northern California Bay Area.  Funny how a little chance encounter was the catalyst for so much happiness and joy.

While I am no longer soliciting donations for St. Jude Children’s Hospital, I strongly encourage you to consider St. Jude if you are inclined to make charitable contributions. Their groundbreaking, and lifesaving, research was literally the difference between life and death for Katelyn, many other children in the past, as well as many more to come in the future.
 
Thank you for your support,
Chris

To follow my campaign for Katelyn and St. Jude on Facebook, go herehttp://www.facebook.com/pages/Wheres-Chris-Scotch/116601038374419

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

