jump to navigation

Afton Trail Run Added! (My first “Ultra”) June 30, 2010

Posted by whereschrisscotch in Races/Events Schedule, Uncategorized.
trackback

I will be competing in the Afton Trail Run 50k event this Saturday at Afton Alps, MN.

Description from the race director:
AFTON TRAIL RUN
The Afton Trail Run is one of the premier 25K and 50K trail races in the country – the greatest athletes in our state and beyond choose to challenge the course each year, which features relentless / wicked climbs, beautiful wooded trails and extreme summer beauty. Come find out if you have what it takes.

30 miles of nothing but up and down trails.  The elevation profile of this event looks scary.  This will be my first Ultra (if a 50k counts) as well as my first trail run of considerable distance.   It will also be my first run with virtually no flat spots – elevation is a  a rarity in Minnesota.

I am looking forward to the event with cautious apprehension  – my goal is to merely finish……….

Friday night, 9:30 pm:

While not exactly the same build up as Grandma’s, I am in jitter mode.  The forecast for tomorrow is calling for 90 degrees.  ughh.  Those of you that know me, know I live in Minnesota for the winters, not the hot humid summers.  I have been eating like crazy this week – had a bag of Sunrise Creative Gourmet’s tri-colored pasta over the course of a couple days.  Tonight included a wild rice with cranberries and almonds, as well as a quinoa artichoke dish.  I am washing it down with what else – a guinness or two.

I have had a good mix of hard workouts (running and yoga) and rest since Grandma’s marathon 2 weeks ago.  My body feels as good as I could expect.  My mind, on the other hand,  is wandering as I try to plan how I will race tomorrow.  This mental exercise is proving to be an enigma as the distance and elevation profile are two factors I have never encountered. The plan is wake at 4:00 am, drive to Afton,  deal with the pre-race activities and work my way to the start line.   Overall I am excited and can’t wait to just get out there and run.

chris

Comments»

1. Shira Granote - July 1, 2010

I know you’ll finish! Enjoy it and make your goal.


Leave a Reply

